Wendt Award Dinner


Sunday, October 29, 2017
5:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Hollywood, CA

Laguna Art Museum will present the Wendt Award to renowned California artist Tony DeLap during an exclusive dinner on Sunday, October 29.

The Wendt Award, named after one of the great Laguna Beach artists of the past who helped establish the museum, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the knowledge and appreciation of California art. Previous recipients of the award include Ruth Westphal, Wayne Thiebaud, Peter Alexander, and Yvonne Boseker.

The Wendt Award Dinner will be an elegant affair featuring delicious cuisine, live music, and special guest speakers who will reflect on Tony DeLap’s life and ongoing advocacy for California art. The event will take place at an exclusive, private club in Hollywood. For information about the location, please email Director of Special Events Sarah Strozza or call 949.494.8971, x219.

Proceeds from the event support the museum’s modern and contemporary art collection and related exhibitions and education programs.


Tickets and Table Opportunities

Individual tickets and table and sponsorship opportunities are available. Please CLICK HERE to make your reservations. For information, please email Director of Special Events Sarah Strozza, or call 949.494.8971, x219.


About the Honoree

Tony is one of Orange County’s foremost living artists and has been at the nexus of art movements within the US, and specifically California, his entire career. In addition to playing an integral part to many movements of late twentieth century abstract art, such as op art and the California Light and Space movement, Tony has remained a leading practitioner of Southern California minimalism and “finish/fetish.” Throughout his career, Tony has explored the concept of the “edge” of a work, concerning himself with examining the point at which painting and sculpture intersect. The University of California, Irvine hired Tony as the first professor to their art department in 1965 and he taught there for nearly 30 years, influencing several generations of Los Angeles-area artists.


Wendt Award Event Committees

Executive Committee

                        .                        .

Committee of Honor

Pam Banks Chris Heijnen                     Peter Alexander Joe Goode
Stephen Barker Mike McGee   Stephanie Barron Marcia Hafif
Sheldon Harte Miriam Smith Larry Bell John Mason
Robert Hayden, III Yvonne Boseker Alexis Smith
Doug Dreishpoon Wayne Thiebaud
Peter Frank Ruth Westphal
UCI Chancellor Howard Gillman